The Barossa Council

The Barossa Council was originally formed in 1996 after the amalgamation of the District Councils of Barossa, Tanunda and Angaston. The majority of the District Council of Mount Pleasant was later amalgamated in 1997. The Council is located approximately 70 kilometres north east of Adelaide, adjacent to the town of Gawler, and is home to a population of approximately 23,000 people.

The Barossa is renowned for its unique sense of place and strong, connected community, which makes it a great place for people to live, work and do business.

The Barossa is recognised as an opportunistic region in regards to business investment opportunities as a result of diverse business potential offerings.  It is regarded as one of South Australia’s greatest economic contributors.

The Barossa Council has a strong history of international partnerships and connections which have been developed through hosting international delegations and visitors.

The Barossa Council welcomes the Chinese business community and endeavours to foster and create opportunities between the two regions, recognising the potential for knowledge sharing, increased tourism opportunities and increased export opportunities

This can be achieved through knowledge sharing and the exchange of new and innovative ideas.